Prize Winners for 2019

SHEAR Book Prize for 2019
The 2019 SHEAR Book Prize went to Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers, in recognition of her book
entitled They Were Her Property: White Women as Slave Owners in the American South (Yale University Press, 2019). Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers is associate professor of history at the University of California, Berkeley.

James H. Broussard First Book Prize for 2019
The 2019 James Broussard Best First Book Prize went to Kellie Carter Jackson, in recognition of her book entitled Force and Freedom: Black Abolitionists and the Politics of Violence (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2019). Kellie Carter Jackson is the Knafel Assistant Professor of the Humanities at Wellesley College.

James Bradford Biography Prize for 2019
The 2019 James Bradford Biography Prize went to Mary V. Thompson, in recognition of her book entitled “The Only Unavoidable Subject of Regret”: George Washington, Slavery, and the Enslaved Community at Mount Vernon (University of North Carolina Press, 2018). Mary V. Thompson is Research Historian at George Washington’s Mount Vernon.

Mary Kelley Prize for 2019
The 2018 Mary Kelley Prize went to Kabria Baumgartner, in recognition of her book entitled In Pursuit of Knowledge: Black Women’s Educational Activism in Antebellum America (University of North Carolina Press, 2018). Kabria Baumgartner is Assistant Professor of American studies
at the University of New Hampshire.

Article Prize 2019:
The 2019 Ralph D. Gray Article Prize went to Robert Murray in recognition of his 2019 Journal of the Early Republic article entitled “Bodies in Motion: Liberian Settlers, Medicine, and Mobility in the Atlantic World.” Robert Murray is an Assistant Professor of History at the Mercy College.

SHEAR Dissertation Prize for 2019
The SHEAR Manuscript Prize went to Julia Lewandoski in recognition of her 2019 University of California dissertation entitled “Small Victories: Indigenous Proprietors Across Empires in North America, 1763-1891.” Julia Lewandoski is a Postdoctoral Fellow, Humanities in a Digital World Program, University of Southern California.