SHEAR Book Prizes 2016

As you may know, the Society for Historians of the Early American Republic award book prizes to original monographs that deal with the period 1776-1861 in America.  Certainly, some books that we consider cover a slightly broader time frame than this.  But in order to qualify, the book must make its primary scholarly contribution to the history of the early American republic. Within that period, the book may treat virtually any aspect of history, including political, economic, social, or cultural history.  In addition, let me emphasize that the book must be an original monograph or a collection of original essays.  Editions of primary sources will not be considered, nor will new editions of old books or anthologies of previously published essays.

We will award prizes for books published in 2016 in following categories: SHEAR Best Book, James Broussard Best First Book, and James Bradford Best Biography Prize. We interpret that to mean that the book carries a 2016 copyright date.  A book with a 2015 copyright date whose publication was delayed until 2016, for example, is normally ineligible.

The James Bradford Biography Prize will be awarded annually to the author of an original biography, broadly defined, published in the previous year, of a person active during the era of the Early Republic.  Editions of primary sources will not be considered, nor will new editions of old books or anthologies of previously published essays.

If you wish to make a nomination or nominations to the SHEAR Best Book, James Broussard Best First Book, or James Bradford Best Biography Prize, please send copies of those books by March 1, 2017 to the prize committee judges, whose addresses are below:

Professor Jessica Lepler  
27 Park Street
Exeter, NH 03833

Professor Martha S. Jones
University of Michigan
Department of History
1029 Tisch Hall
435 S. State Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Professor Gregory Nobles
American Antiquarian Society
185 Salisbury Street
Worcester MA 01609

SHEAR will also award the Mary Kelley Prize, honoring the best book published on the history of women, gender, or sexuality in the Early American Republic (1776-1861).  The prize is named in honor of Mary Kelley, the Ruth Bordin Collegiate Professor of History, American Culture, and Women’s Studies at the University of Michigan, who has produced path-breaking work on gender and intellectual history, the history of reading, and the history of education and is a past president of SHEAR.  This prize marks an opportunity to celebrate her contributions to SHEAR at the same time that we recognize work in a subfield that has moved to the center of our thinking about the Early Republic.

Please send one copy of books that satisfy the guidelines of the Mary Kelley Prize to the members of this year’s Mary Kelley Prize Committee by March 1, 2017:

Professor Serena Zabin
Department of History
Carleton College
Northfield, MN 55057

Professor Nicholas L. Syrett
History Department
Campus Box 116
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley, CO 80639

Professor Stacey Robertson
Central Washington University
400 E. University Way
Ellensburg WA 98926

If you have questions regarding any of the prizes, please contact